madrid1j.jpg (228808 bytes)

On this map you can more clearly see the tiny country of Andorra, located on the northern border, the British colony of Gibraltar and the two Spanish colonies of Ceuta and Melilla which are located in the south.   To the east of Spain is a group of islands.   These are the Balearic Islands which are part of Spain.  Although not visible on this map the Canary Islands are also part of Spain.  They are located southwest of Spain off the coast of Morocco.  Right in the center of the country you see a star.   This is Madrid the capital.  To continue click on Madrid on the map.

  World Book map; map data (c), Inc