The other 18 countries and Puerto Rico are all located in Central America, South America and the Caribbean.  It is not true that all countries south of the United States speak Spanish.  The largest country in South America is Brazil.  In size it is almost as large at the United States.  With 175,000,000 people it is  6th most populated country in the world.  And the official language is Portuguese.

There is also the countries of Guyana in South America and Belize in Central America where English is the official language.  In Suriname in South America the official language is Dutch.  And in the Island nations of the Caribbean the official languages might be English, Dutch, French or Spanish.  On the island of Hispaniola, are located the countries of Haiti and the Dominican Republic.  In Haiti the people speak French, in the Dominican Republic the people speak Spanish.

Next Page